Email Us Member Portal

The Organization

Our Mission

The mission of ALSCA mirrors the American School Counselor Association’s mission to represent professional school counselors and to promote professionalism and ethical practices.

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is the foundation that expands the image and influence of professional school counselors through advocacy, leadership, collaboration and systemic change. ASCA empowers professional school counselors with the knowledge, skills, linkages, and resources to promote student success in the school, the home, the community, and the world. ALSCA’s organizational vision reflects that of ASCA’s vision.

ALSCA is a network center for school counselors in Alabama and is the largest division of the Alabama Counseling Association (ALCA). ALSCA provides support for school counselors from all school systems in Alabama. The Alabama School Counselor Association is also a component of the American School Counselor Association (ASCA).

Organizational Structure

Relationship to the American School Counselor Association (ASCA), the American Counseling Association (ACA), and the Alabama Counselor Association (ALCA)

ALSCA is a state division of ASCA and an affiliate of ALCA. It is under the umbrella of ASCA and works very closely with ALCA. ASCA must be joined separately from ACA; however, members are encouraged to join both national organizations. On the state level, a member must join ALCA to be a member of ALSCA. Responsibilities to each include membership of officers, representation at official business meetings, and submission of required reports. Some of the reciprocal services for which members benefit are:

  • Professional development activities
  • Professional identity
  • Films and publications
  • Position statements on current issues
  • Research pertinent to counseling
  • State, regional and national conferences
  • Interprofessional, government, and public relations
  • Leadership workshops
  • Insurance plans

The governing structure provides a system for the membership to be heard at all levels; members receive benefits that only a large national organization can provide.

Bylaws & Policies

ALSCA Policies & Procedures Handbook (2020-21)

ALSCA Bylaws (November 2018 Revision)

History of ALSCA

The Alabama School Counselor Association (ALSCA) received its charter from the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) during the national convention of the American Personnel and Guidance Association (APGA) in New Orleans in 1970. It was the second division of the Alabama Personnel and Guidance Association (ALPGA) to receive a national charter.

The state constitution for ALSCA was adopted the previous year (1969) at the ALPGA meeting during AEA. In order to receive a state charter, a slate of officers had to be submitted. Therefore, Dr. John Seymour, ALPGA President and Mrs. Reba Clark, President- Elect appointed the following officers for the interim year until elections could be held in March at the regular meeting: President, Mary H. McKinnon, Director of Guidance Jefferson County Schools, Mary Moon, Counselor, Mountain Brook High School; Treasurer, Herman Griffin, former Counselor Athens High School; Parliamentarian, Bob Griffin, Assistant Professor, The University of Alabama.

The officers were charged with contacting the prospective members of ALPGA and setting up temporary committees to carry out the necessary business of the organization until the membership could officially elect officers. Plans were made to hold an ALSCA meeting during the Fall Workshop in Mobile, and the membership fee was set at $1.00.

Bylaws state that the purposes of ALCSA were:

  • To foster a close personal and professional relationship among school counselors and with counselors in other settings;
  • To improve the standards of counseling and guidance services for students kindergarten through postsecondary schools;
  • To assume an active role in helping others understand and improve such services;
  • To develop a close working relationship with state and local school administrators, educational associations, and state agencies;
  • To advance the profession of counseling in order to maximize the educational/academic, occupational, and person/social growth of each individual;
  • To publish educational and professional materials

Traditionally ALSCA met with AEA and ALPGA (Now ALCA) representatives until 1975. From 1975 until 1980, no spring meetings were held, although the membership met during Fall Workshop each year. In 1980, a Spring Workshop was initiated for ALSCA members only. By 1983, The Spring Workshop was a joint venture with one or more districts participating with ALSCA in presenting programs for members.

ALSCA is a state division of ASCA and an affiliate of ALCA. A member must join ALCA to be a member of ALSCA. The governing structure provides a system for the membership to be heard at all levels; members receive benefits that only a large national organization can provide. ALSCA continues to work in conjunction with ALCA to bring content sessions of interest to its members at the ALCA Annual Conference.

* To preserve the original history document of the organization, the above section has not been altered.

ALSCA encourages all of its members to present current and relevant issues to their colleagues at the ALCA Annual Conference, as well as at other ALSCA-sponsored professional development conferences and workshops, and at content sessions at conferences sponsored by other groups. ALSCA sends two voting delegates to Delegate Assembly, held in conjunction with Leadership Development Institute and the ASCA Annual Conference.

ALSCA’s membership has grown from 132 members at its inception to approximately 1,000 members today. It is the largest of the ALCA affiliates/divisions.

ALCA Chapter Regions

Region I

  • Colbert County
  • Cullman County
  • Franklin County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Lawrence County
  • Limestone County
  • Morgan County
  • Winston County

Region II

  • Blount County
  • Jackson County
  • Madison County
  • Marshall County

Region III

  • Fayette County
  • Green County
  • Hale County
  • Lamar County
  • Marion County
  • Pickens County
  • Sumter County
  • Tuscaloosa County
  • Walker County

Region IV

  • Jefferson County
  • Shelby County

Region V

  • Calhoun County
  • Cherokee County
  • Cleburne County
  • De Kalb County
  • Etowah County
  • St. Clair County
  • Talladega County

Region VI

  • Autauga County
  • Bibb County
  • Butler County
  • Chilton County
  • Choctaw County
  • Dallas County
  • Lowndes County
  • Marengo County
  • Perry County
  • Wilcox County

Region VII

  • Bullock County
  • Chambers County
  • Clay County
  • Coosa County
  • Elmore County
  • Lee County
  • Macon County
  • Montgomery County
  • Randolph County
  • Russell County
  • Tallapoosa County

Region VIII

  • Baldwin County
  • Clarke County
  • Conecuh County
  • Escambia County
  • Mobile County
  • Monroe County
  • Washington County

Region IX

  • Barbour County
  • Coffee County
  • Covington County
  • Crenshaw County
  • Dale County
  • Geneva County
  • Henry County
  • Houston County
  • Pike County

Contact ALSCA with questions today!